Who Won Melbourne Cup 2022?

Every year, the Melbourne Cup is a prestigious horse race in Melbourne, Australia. In 2021, the race was won by a horse named Verry Elegant. She was ridden by jockey James McDonald and trained by Chris Waller. This was her first time winning the cup, and she did so by three and a half lengths.

What were the odds?

The winner of the race was Verry Elleegant, a horse ridden by James McDonald and trained by Chris Waller. The bookies said that she had no chance of winning the race. However, when the big day came around, she ended up taking home first place by three and a half lengths.

Who were the jockey and trainer?

The jockey of “Verry Elleegant” was James McDonald, and the trainer was Chris Waller. James was riding in his first Melbourne Cup, while it wasn’t the first time that Chris had won this race (he has won it five times).

Who came in second?

Coming in second place was INCENTIVISE, ridden by Brett Prebble and trained by Peter G Moody.

Who was in third place?

Coming in third place came SPANISH MISSION. She was ridden by Craig Williams and trained by Andrew Balding. This would be the second time that she would come in with a close third place (she did it last year).

Full finishing list:

  1. Verry Elegant
  2. Incentivise
  3. Spanish Mission
  4. Floating Artist
  5. The Chosen One
  6. Grand Promenade
  7. Delphi
  8. Selino
  9. Tralee Rose
  10. She’s Ideel
  11. Twilight Payment
  12. Miami Bound
  13. Great House
  14. Sir Lucan
  15. Explosive Jack
  16. Master of Wine
  17. Pondus
  18. Carif
  19. Knights Order
  20. Persan
  21. Port Guillaume
  22. Johnny Get Angry
  23. Ocean Billy

What is the Melbourne Cup?

The Melbourne Cup is a horse race in Australia every year. The race was first to run in 1861, although the distance of the race has changed over time. The winning horse receives AUD 4.6 million (Australian Dollars), and its name is engraved on the trophy for all to see.

How long is the Melbourne Cup race?

The race itself is over 3,200 meters long. This year it took place at Flemington Racecourse in Australia, located in Melbourne.

What is the prize money?

This year’s Melbourne Cup winner received 4.6 million Australian Dollars in prize money for their victory. Second place won 0.5 million AUD, and third place won 800,000 AUD. Many other prizes go to horses further back in the race.